Traveling Awards

Sunshine State Mounted Drill Team Association has 4 perpetual awards that are handed out at each of the shows. Here is the criteria for each awards and prior recipients.

Judges’ Choice Award

The Judges’ Choice Award is presented at the first qualifier of the season to any team for whatever reason the judges decide upon. This award has been around for a long time. If anyone has information on the teams that won in the years not listed, please let us know.

  • 2010 – Paso Espiritu
  • 2015 – Hearts For Horses
  • 2016 – Hearts For Horses
  • 2017 – Crossfire Cowgirls
  • 2018 – Marcody Ranch
  • 2019 – The Outsiders
  • 2020 – Hearts For Horses
  • 2021 – The Gospel Riders
  • 2022 – The Gospel Riders
  • 2023 – Aftershock

Horsemanship Award

Horsemanship requires the horse and rider to work in precise and complete unison. Riders are assessed on their ability to maintain a balanced and correct body position while directing the horse with subtle aids and cues, and the horse’s ability to respond to the rider and follow the intended pattern of moves.

This award is for the team that demonstrates proficient horsemanship throughout the weekend across all classes entered. Judges will confer and decide on a team to receive this award at the second qualifier of the season.

Sponsored by Country Lane Tack and started in June 2022.

  • 2022 – The Renegades
  • 2023 – The Outsiders

Sportsmanship Award

This award is presented at the third qualifier of the season and is decided by the teams themselves. Teams vote to give this award to the team that is showing the most team support, helping members of their team and other teams, and getting along with everyone. It is given to the team that is shown to be most supportive of other teams in and out of the arena.

This award started in September 2022.

  • 2022 – The Gospel Riders

The Golden Shovel

Maintaining a clean and organized stall area isn’t an east feat, especially at the State Championship show when there are so many more items to bring. The State Championship judges wander through the barns on their breaks and then decide which team kept their stall area the neatest during the chaos of showing.

This award started in November 2020.

  • 2020 – The Outsiders
  • 2021 – The Renegades
  • 2022 – The Gypsy Rebels